My Journey So Far In The SCA Mentorship Program

My Journey So Far In The SCA Mentorship Program

She Code Africa(SCA) is a non-profit organization that is focused on celebrating and empowering young girls and women in technology across Africa. The SCA Mentorship Program is one of her initiatives to help women grow women grow their technical and soft skills bu working with a dedicated mentor for 3months.

Last month I got accepted as a mentee on the SCA 2nd cohort mentor program for datasciene intermidiate track. After the acceptance I and some other applicants were paired with a mentor and the 3 months mentoring program officially started on July 1st.

In this program our mentor is to share some learning resources with us weekly and also assign some exercises or task to us to be done and submitted for review.

For the first month(July) we learnt the foundational topics in data science which includes python programming language, probability and statistics, data analysis and wrangling. Below I'll be sharing some highlights of what I learnt each week...

Week 1

I learnt about data types and operations, loops, functions and control flow in python programming language and I was give some task to write a code to :

  1. Guess The Number: Write a program where the computer randomly generates a number between 0 and 20. The user needs to guess what the number is. If the user guesses wrong, tell them their guess is either too high, or too low. Check here for solution github.com/cynchizy/SCA-Mentorship-program/..

  2. Password Generator: Write a program, which generates a random password for the user and ask the user how long they want their password to be, and how many letters and numbers they want in their password. Have a mix of upper and lowercase letters, as well as numbers and symbols. The password should be a minimum of 6 characters long. Check here for solution github.com/cynchizy/SCA-Mentorship-program/..

Week 2

I learnt about probability and statistics in data science using Python and I was given an exercise to write a code to estimate the probability that n flip of a fair coin will result in numbers of "heads" between k1 and k2. Check here for solution. github.com/cynchizy/SCA-Mentorship-program/..

Week 3

I learnt about some python libraries for data analysis like numpy, pandas and matplotlib and I was given a chinook database which holds information about a music store and I was too assist the Chinook team in understanding the media, Customer, employee and invoice information in their store by analyzing their data and writing some queries to give answers and insights about their store. Check here for solution github.com/cynchizy/SCA-Mentorship-program/..

Week 4

This week I learnt about data wrangling in python which involves processing messy/complex data in different formats like cleaning, merging, grouping, concatenating e.t.c for easy access and analysis.

So far I've learnt how to clean and analyse data in other to get useful insights from it.

I'm grateful to She Code Africa and my dedicated mentor for this opportunity.